Early accessFree during early access. Review your bid, or your bid and contract, at no cost.
Sample report

See a complete sample BidProof report

An illustrative example in the same format a homeowner receives. It shows the overall result, findings, questions, and checks that could not be completed. Switch Pass, Revise, and Flag on the same system.

Pass: checked details look supported. Revise: questions need answers. Flag: concerns need attention before signing. Finding counts summarize individual checks; they are not a numerical score or a guarantee.

BidProof ReportBP-9A47E3B1 · CA
4812 Willow Creek Lane, Roseville, CA 95747 · PG&ESolar + storageReviewed September 24, 2026
What we reviewed

Golden Valley Energy presented two system options. This report covers the larger one, with the battery.

System size8.80 kW DCPanels22 × 400 WBattery10.0 kWhPrice$36,080

If the version you are weighing is the smaller one without the battery, tell us and we will review that instead. The findings below apply only to the system described here.

VERDICT · REVISE
0 flags6 to check10 clear

A few items are worth a closer look before you sign.

Start with the three things most people want answered. Your price, $36,080, is about 6% above the top of the normal range for a system your size with this much battery, and still inside what we consider fair. Your interest rate, 4.99%, is genuinely low, but a 25-year loan at that rate almost always has a lender fee built into the price, and this proposal never says what it is. And the proposal never states whether the battery backs up the whole home or only a critical-loads panel, so what you would really have during an outage is not written down anywhere.

Two of the numbers you were shown are more optimistic than we can support. Our independent model puts your roof at 12,640 kWh a year. The proposal says 13,900, about 9% higher, because it assumes no shading on a roof that has afternoon shade on the west face. Separately, the savings projection assumes your PG&E rates rise 5.5% a year, where PG&E's own twenty-year record is 4.9%. Together those two mean the $71,400 in lifetime savings becomes about $61,800, and payback moves from under 10 years to about 12. The system still saves you money. It saves less than the page says.

None of this means walk away. The equipment checks out, the license is on the document, the warranties are complete, and the six questions below are all answerable in a single email. Ask for the production and savings re-run with a real shading number and PG&E's own rate history, and ask what the loan fee is. If the bid still works at those numbers, it works.

Est. payback: about 12 years

Your system at a glance

System size8.80 kW DC22 modules
PanelsQcells Q.TRON BLK M-G2+22 × 400 W
InverterEnphase IQ8M22 microinverters
BatteryEnphase IQ Battery 5P2 units · 10.0 kWh usable
Annual production13,900 kWhstated on the proposal
Gross price$36,080$4.10 per watt
Finance25-year loan4.99% APR · $0 down

What checks out

A good bid deserves to be recognized. These checked out cleanly.

Fit✓
The battery answers a goal you actually named

You told us your power goes out several times a year, that riding through an outage matters to you, and that you would want the whole house running for about six hours. This battery is answering something you asked for rather than something you were sold.

Storage✓
Backup meets your stated need

The finding above notes that the proposal never states whether this backs up the whole home or only a critical-loads panel, and that still needs an answer. The capacity itself is not the problem. You said you'd want the whole house running for about six hours in an outage, and a full battery on this system runs the whole house for about eight, assuming whole-home is what actually gets wired. So this is a paperwork gap rather than a hardware gap: get the backup scope in writing, and the system should do what you asked it to do.

Storage✓
Backup runtime breakdown

From a full 10.0 kWh battery, here's roughly what you'd get: essentials like the fridge, lights, and internet run about 2.1 days (~50 hours); comfort mode, about half your normal use, runs about 16 hours; running the whole home as usual, air conditioning included, runs about 8 hours. These use a regional usage model for homes like yours, since your own bills were not part of what we reviewed. Whole home is the shortest of the three because air conditioning uses more power than everything else in the house put together on a hot afternoon. If you switch it off during an outage you are closer to the comfort number than the whole-home one.

Two things to know: these assume the battery is full when an outage starts (on a time-of-use setup it's often run down each evening, so an evening outage would start lower), and they use year-1 capacity, since batteries fade over their 15 to 25 year life. One piece of good news: your solar makes about 35 kWh a day, more than the essentials basket needs, so on the essentials setting the battery can effectively run as long as the sun keeps shining. The catch is that the storms behind long outages also cut solar output.

Equipment✓
Panel maker checks out

Your panels, Qcells Q.TRON BLK M-G2+ 400 W, are on the approved-equipment list that building departments, utilities, and lenders across the country check against, published by the California Energy Commission. Qcells has been in business since 1999, though the company under Hanwha Solutions has operated as the current entity since 2012, after the original founding company filed insolvency. Qcells runs its own manufacturing plants in Dalton and Cartersville, Georgia. Twenty-two panels at 400 watts is 8.80 kW, which matches the system size on the proposal.

Equipment✓
Inverter and battery makers check out

The Enphase IQ8M microinverters and the Enphase IQ Battery 5P are both on the same approved-equipment list. Enphase was founded in 2006 in Fremont, California, commercialized the microinverter, and now builds them at contract plants in South Carolina and Texas. This bid puts one microinverter on each panel instead of running everything through a single string inverter, and that is a good thing for your roof: one shaded or failed panel does not drag down the rest of the array, which matters on a roof with afternoon shade like yours.

Finance✓
The interest rate itself is competitive

4.99% is at the low end of what we see on residential solar loans right now. That is a real advantage as a rate. Read it alongside the finance finding below, because a 25-year term at this rate is usually paid for somewhere, and the proposal does not say where.

Warranty✓
Equipment coverage is solid across all three layers

25 years of product and performance coverage on the Qcells panels, 15 years on the Enphase microinverters, and 15 years or 6,000 cycles on the battery. Nothing is duplicated and nothing is below what is typical for this equipment.

Warranty✓
Workmanship warranty is strong

Golden Valley Energy backs their own installation work for 10 years. Ten years or more is the strong end of what we typically see, and it covers problems with the install itself, wiring, mounting, roof penetrations, for that full period. This sits separately from the manufacturer warranties on your panels, inverter and battery. One thing worth knowing about any workmanship warranty: it only holds as long as the company that made it stays in business. That's true of every installer, large or small, and isn't a knock on this one. If you'd like coverage that doesn't depend on any single company staying open, third-party warranty insurance is a separate product you can look into on your own. We have no relationship with these providers and gain nothing if you buy one. We mention it only so you know the option exists.

Licensing✓
Contractor of record is named

The proposal names Golden Valley Energy as the contractor of record. The entity on the proposal is the entity named as responsible for the installation.

Licensing✓
License number is listed

A contractor license number appears on the proposal. We've confirmed a number is present, not that it's currently valid. Checking it against your state's licensing board is a separate step you can take, and it takes about a minute.

Things to check

Not deal-breakers, but worth a clear answer before you sign.

Production
The production estimate runs above our model

Our independent model comes in at 12,640 kWh a year. Your proposal says 13,900. That is about 9% above our model, and it matters because every savings number on the proposal is built on it. If your roof makes 9% less power than the page assumes, you save less than the page promises.

The gap traces to one input. The proposal assumes no shading at all, and your roof has afternoon shade on the west-facing section from the neighboring trees. A zero-shading assumption is the most common reason a production number comes in high.

Ask your bidder“Your production estimate is about 9% above an independent PVWatts model for my roof, and it assumes zero shading. Can you re-run it with a realistic shading figure for the west-facing section and send me both versions?”

Price
Your price is close to normal for your area

Your price is about 6% above what we consider the normal range for your area and system size, and inside what we consider fair. No red flag here. In numbers: $36,080 is $4.10 per watt including the 10 kWh battery, where normal for a system like yours tops out around $3.85 and fair tops out around $4.60.

Ask your bidder“What would this system cost without the battery?”

Savings
The rate increase assumption runs above PG&E's own record

The savings projection assumes your electricity bill goes up 5.5% every year for the next 25 years. PG&E's own published record is 4.9% a year over the last twenty. We use the utility's actual history rather than a steeper guess, because that assumption is doing a lot of work in a 25-year number.

That one difference is most of the gap between what you were shown and what we get. The proposal says $71,400 in lifetime savings. Re-run at PG&E's own 4.9% and with our production figure, it comes to about $61,800. Our figure uses a regional usage model for homes like yours rather than your own bills, which we did not have.

Ask your bidder“Can you re-run the savings projection using a 4.9% annual rate increase, which is PG&E's own twenty-year record, and show me that version next to the 5.5% version?”

Savings
Payback is on the long side

Taking the proposal's own first-year savings figure of $2,980 against the full $36,080 you would be financing, this system pays for itself in about 12 years. Under 10 is what we would call healthy. Twelve is not alarming on its own, and a battery legitimately stretches it, but it is worth seeing the number written down, because the proposal does not state it anywhere.

Ask your bidder“What is the simple payback on this system, using your own first-year savings figure against the full price I am financing rather than a price after incentives?”

Finance
A finance fee is almost certainly in the price, and it is not disclosed

4.99% across a 25-year term is below what a lender charges for that money. The difference is normally covered by a dealer fee added to the system price, often 15% to 30% of it. The proposal shows a single price with no cash alternative, which is the pattern that keeps the fee invisible. You may well decide the low payment is worth it. You should be able to see what it costs first.

Ask your bidder“What is the cash price of this exact system, and what is the dealer or finance fee for the 4.99% loan? Please show those as two separate numbers.”

Storage
Backup scope is assumed, not stated

The proposal never states whether this battery backs up the whole home or only a critical-loads panel of essential circuits. We assumed whole-home for the runtime numbers above, since that is the most common arrangement, but it was not written down anywhere. If this system actually backs up a critical-loads panel instead, the number that applies during an outage is the essentials or comfort figure above, not the whole-home one.

Ask your bidder“Does this battery back up the whole home or only a critical-loads panel, and can that be stated in the contract?”

Your questions, ready to send

Print this list

Copy or print these word-for-word — they’re ready to send to your bidder for answers.

  1. Your production estimate is about 9% above an independent PVWatts model for my roof, and it assumes zero shading. Can you re-run it with a realistic shading figure for the west-facing section and send me both versions?
  2. What would this system cost without the battery?
  3. Can you re-run the savings projection using a 4.9% annual rate increase, which is PG&E's own twenty-year record, and show me that version next to the 5.5% version?
  4. What is the simple payback on this system, using your own first-year savings figure against the full price I am financing rather than a price after incentives?
  5. What is the cash price of this exact system, and what is the dealer or finance fee for the 4.99% loan? Please show those as two separate numbers.
  6. Does this battery back up the whole home or only a critical-loads panel, and can that be stated in the contract?
Methodology

Every number on this proposal is checked against independent references: a ZIP-level solar production model, current utility-rate data, and regulator-approved third-party equipment data.

BidProof evaluates whether the proposal's claims are internally consistent and grounded in industry-standard data. It does not guarantee system performance.

Where a contract is reviewed, BidProof reports what the contract says, not what it means legally. BidProof is not a law firm.

This report is an independent review of your bid by experienced solar industry professionals. It is not professional legal, tax, financial or engineering advice.

How to read the findings

This sample uses illustrative data, not a homeowner’s documents. The verdict reflects the checks we could complete. None is a guarantee of savings or performance.

Pass
The completed checks found no serious concerns or significant issues to resolve before signing. Read the findings and any limits on what we could check.
Revise
The completed checks found issues that need clarification or changes from your installer before you sign, but no serious red flags.
Flag
At least one completed check found a serious concern. We do not recommend signing the proposal as written; address the flagged findings first.

“Not checked” means the documents or available data do not support a conclusion. Ask for the missing information before treating that item as resolved. Start with the findings, read their assumptions and sources, and take the listed questions back to your installer.

See how checks work, coverage and limitations, and review pricing.

Independent review · $49Review my bid